martes, 9 de marzo de 2010

ALSO!

Chirigotas! I forgot to add these!

It seems like I just might never make it home.

Man the weather has been crazy! (And I also haven't posted for a while, oops)
More flooding basically everywhere except Cádiz, which is a a giant rock in he middle of the ocean, so if we flooded, EVERYONE floods. For some reason it has gotten really cold. My computer is telling me that it is 43 degrees out. 43 DEGREES IN SOUTHERN SPAIN! Evidently it has been snowing rather heavily in Barcelona, which I can only hope does not spread to Cádiz.
Moving on, we are leaving for Lisbon on thursday morning, which should be a lot of fun because I have heard that it is a really gorgeous city. And luckily enough, the weather forcast is calling for sun! YES!

So, some random things that I just remembered that I could share....

The Burning on the Momo God
(Quema de Dios Momo)

So on the wednesday of Carnaval, they had a big stage set up in the Plaza with musical performers and this big effigy of "Dios Momo", which Wikipedia so kindly told me is the Greek god of Satire. o one of the main points of Carnaval is to do all the stuff that you can't do all year, to get it out of your system, and then go back to being a good catholic. This is why it's followed by Semana Santa. Anyways, the burning of this "Dios"is to signify the beginning of the end of Carnaval, which means the end of all the fun. So they have a whole procession of events during this night which leads up to the burning of this statue. We were lucky enough to be pretty close so I got some decent pictures of it!






And I bet you don't see this very often. Yes, that's right Ham flavored chips. YUM

lunes, 1 de marzo de 2010

What I did today....

WELL, I doesn't happen very often, but I EXERCISED! Amazing. I mananged to motivate myself to run to the new part of town to meet people at the beach. Granted, it wasn't a marathon, but it's better than nothing. And the best part was going swimming after I got there and was all sweaty and hot. Glorious. Although, I will say, I still like freshwater better. BUT, the weather has been showing some sign of improvement, as in, we had sun for the majority of the day today! Amazing! I'm just hoping that it will continue, because that would be a mean joke of the weather if it continued to rain for the next three weeks. :( I'll be hoping....